Oman Main Interconnected System spot market

Oman (Main Interconnected System). Status: operational.

Wholesale design: A half-hourly day-ahead spot market has operated in the MIS since 1 January 2022 alongside long-term power purchase agreements and the single-buyer procurement model.

Operator
Oman Electricity Market Operator; Nama Power and Water Procurement
Pricing granularity
single system
Settlement interval
30 minutes
Nominal frequency
50 Hz
What a battery can sell

What ancillary services can a battery sell in Oman Main Interconnected System spot market?

Oman Main Interconnected System spot market has 5 ancillary-service products, across 5 families — frequency containment, automatic frequency restoration, replacement reserve, reactive power & voltage and black start & restoration: Black Start, Primary Response, Reactive Power / Voltage Control, Secondary Response, Tertiary Reserve. Response timing, direction and eligibility for each are in the table below; a product's full record lists the official sources behind it.

Every value below comes from the official sources listed in that product's full record. Most products cite more than one, and the published sources do not say which of them states each individual value, so the binding is to the product's record rather than to a single document. A missing line means the source does not state that value — never that the value is zero.

Scroll the table sideways for the rest of the columns →

5 ancillary-service products in Oman Main Interconnected System spot market, grouped into 5 families. Each row runs left to right through one product's life: how it activates, how quickly it has to respond, how long it has to keep delivering, and how it is bought.
Service How it activates Response Sustained delivery Procurement
Frequency containment
Primary Response symmetric operational Response type post-fault; automatic local Trigger Frequency deviation; normal system frequency band is not treated as the product activation threshold. Full activation 5 s As the source describes it Full by t=5 seconds and sustainable until at least t=30 seconds from the event; t=30 is an event-time endpoint, not an additional 30-second duration Varies System-operator determined Bought Operational availability under Grid Code/PPA obligations Through mandatory provision; bilateral contract Pricing design Grid Code and contract terms
Full record for Primary Response — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Automatically contain frequency deviations following an imbalance.

What the source says about timing

Fully available within 5 seconds

Who can provide it

Generating units and other facilities meeting Grid Code requirements.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 5 s

Sources
Automatic frequency restoration
Secondary Response symmetric operational Response type post-fault; automatic central Trigger System-control signal following frequency deviation. Full activation 30 s As the source describes it Full by t=30 seconds and sustainable until t=30 minutes from the Grid Code event/activation origin; not an additional 1,800-second duration Varies System-operator determined Bought Operational availability under Grid Code/PPA obligations Through mandatory provision; bilateral contract Pricing design Grid Code and contract terms
Full record for Secondary Response — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Restore frequency and replace primary response following an imbalance.

What the source says about timing

Fully available within 30 seconds

Who can provide it

Generating units and other facilities meeting Grid Code requirements.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 30 s

Sources
Replacement reserve
Tertiary Reserve up operational Response type manual Trigger System-operator instruction. Full activation 30 min Varies System-operator determined Bought Operational availability under Grid Code/PPA obligations Through mandatory provision; bilateral contract Pricing design Grid Code and contract terms
Full record for Tertiary Reserve — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Replace secondary response and restore reserve capability.

What the source says about timing

Available within 30 minutes

Who can provide it

Synchronized, non-synchronized and demand-reduction resources meeting Grid Code requirements.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 30 min

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement and a procurement volume in its own words. It does not state how long delivery has to be sustained.

Sources
Reactive power & voltage
Reactive Power / Voltage Control non-directional operational Response type continuous; automatic local; manual Trigger Voltage setpoints and system-operator instruction. Stated response Equipment- and instruction-specific As the source describes it Continuous/as required As stated Network-study-specific Bought Continuous/operational Through mandatory provision; bilateral contract Pricing design Grid Code and contract terms
Full record for Reactive Power / Voltage Control — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Maintain system voltages using reactive-power capability and voltage control.

Who can provide it

Generators and reactive compensation equipment meeting Grid Code requirements.

Sources
Black start & restoration
Black Start operational Response type post-fault; manual; event-triggered Trigger Restoration plan. Stated response Facility- and restoration-plan-specific As the source describes it Restoration-plan-specific As stated Restoration-plan-specific Bought Contracted/assigned by restoration need Through bilateral contract; administrative assignment Pricing design Contract terms
Full record for Black Start — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Start generation without external power and support restoration of the MIS.

Who can provide it

Certified black-start facilities.

Sources
Getting paid to exist

Does Oman Main Interconnected System spot market have a capacity mechanism?

No. Oman Main Interconnected System spot market's capacity/adequacy arrangement: No standalone capacity market. Responsibility sits with Nama Power and Water Procurement.

No standalone capacity market

not applicable

Long-term adequacy is procured through competitive IPP/PPA tenders by the single buyer, rather than a separate capacity-market auction.

competitive tender

Responsibility
Nama Power and Water Procurement
Auction held in 2025
No — No capacity auction for this market was found to have been held during 2025 in the sources reviewed.
Where this comes from

Official sources

Rules

Market explainer

Capacity-mechanism explainer

Current as of · from the Global Electricity Market Catalogue v1.2.0 (compiled to , CC BY 4.0, rendered here with wording edited for readability). Facts belong to the linked official authorities; verify the current rules before design or bidding decisions.

Questions

Common questions about Oman Main Interconnected System spot market

Who operates Oman Main Interconnected System spot market?
Oman Main Interconnected System spot market covers Oman (Main Interconnected System) and is operated by Oman Electricity Market Operator; Nama Power and Water Procurement.
Was a qualifying capacity event held in Oman Main Interconnected System spot market in 2025?
No. No standalone capacity market: no qualifying 2025 event is recorded. No capacity auction for this market was found to have been held during 2025 in the sources reviewed.
How is energy traded, priced and settled in Oman Main Interconnected System spot market?
Oman Main Interconnected System spot market: A half-hourly day-ahead spot market has operated in the MIS since 1 January 2022 alongside long-term power purchase agreements and the single-buyer procurement model. Pricing granularity — single system; settlement interval — 30 minutes.
Keep exploring

Every market, one map.

The markets index holds the full set. For what the grid demands of a battery here, see the grid-code ride-through atlas.

All electricity markets