South African electricity supply industry / future SAWEM

South Africa. Status: pre launch.

Wholesale design: The current system remains dominated by regulated dispatch, single-buyer procurement and bilateral wheeling. The South African Wholesale Electricity Market code and roadmap are under implementation; this record does not treat SAWEM as an already-operational spot market.

Operator
National Transmission Company South Africa (NTCSA)
Nominal frequency
50 Hz
What a battery can sell

What ancillary services can a battery sell in South African electricity supply industry / future SAWEM?

South African electricity supply industry / future SAWEM has 8 ancillary-service products, across 6 families — regulation, frequency containment, contingency reserve, replacement reserve, reactive power & voltage and black start & restoration: Black Start / Self Start / Unit Islanding, Emergency Reserve, Instantaneous Reserve, Regulating Reserve Down, Regulating Reserve Up, Supplemental Reserve, Ten-Minute Reserve, Reactive Power / Voltage Control. Response timing, direction and eligibility for each are in the table below; a product's full record lists the official sources behind it.

Every value below comes from the official sources listed in that product's full record. Most products cite more than one, and the published sources do not say which of them states each individual value, so the binding is to the product's record rather than to a single document. A missing line means the source does not state that value — never that the value is zero.

Scroll the table sideways for the rest of the columns →

8 ancillary-service products in South African electricity supply industry / future SAWEM, grouped into 6 families. Each row runs left to right through one product's life: how it activates, how quickly it has to respond, how long it has to keep delivering, and how it is bought.
Service How it activates Response Sustained delivery Procurement
Regulation
Regulating Reserve Down down operational Response type continuous; automatic central Trigger System-control signal. Response starts 10 s Full activation 10 min As the source describes it Continuous regulation subject to resource limits System requirement 830 MW (2026/27) Source wording: 830 MW down Do not add up and down directions into a single requirement. Bought Annual/medium-term requirement Through bilateral contract; mandatory provision Pricing design Ancillary-service contract/regulated provision
Full record for Regulating Reserve Down — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Correct frequency and tie-line deviations under automatic control.

What the source says about timing

Response begins within 10 seconds and reaches full activation within 10 minutes

Who can provide it

Qualified generation and demand-side resources.

Checkpoint recap

Response starts 10 s · Full activation 10 min

Sources
Regulating Reserve Up up operational Response type continuous; automatic central Trigger System-control signal. Response starts 10 s Full activation 10 min As the source describes it Continuous regulation subject to resource limits System requirement 830 MW (2026/27) Source wording: 830 MW up Do not add up and down directions into a single requirement. Bought Annual/medium-term requirement Through bilateral contract; mandatory provision Pricing design Ancillary-service contract/regulated provision
Full record for Regulating Reserve Up — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Correct frequency and tie-line deviations under automatic control.

What the source says about timing

Response begins within 10 seconds and reaches full activation within 10 minutes

Who can provide it

Qualified generation and demand-side resources.

Checkpoint recap

Response starts 10 s · Full activation 10 min

Sources
Frequency containment
Instantaneous Reserve up operational Response type post-fault; automatic local; event-triggered Trigger Frequency event; generator high-frequency response setting is above 50.15 Hz. Demand-response settings are contracted and tested. Full activation 10 s As the source describes it at least 10 min; At least 10 minutes System requirement 650–850 MW (2026/27) Source wording: 650 MW peak; 850 MW off-peak NTCSA Ancillary Services Technical Requirements 2026/27–2030/31. Bought Annual/medium-term requirement with contracted capability Through bilateral contract; mandatory provision Pricing design Contract terms; instantaneous demand response receives standby payment rather than energy payment
Full record for Instantaneous Reserve — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Arrest rapid frequency decay following a contingency using generation or demand reduction.

What the source says about timing

Full response within 10 seconds (instantaneous demand response must respond within 6 seconds)

Who can provide it

Qualified generating units and contracted demand-response loads; demand-response minimum offer 10 MW.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 10 s · Minimum sustained 10 min

Sources
Contingency reserve
Emergency Reserve up operational Response type post-fault; manual; event-triggered Trigger Emergency operating instruction/event. Full activation 10 min System requirement 1200 MW (2026/27) Source wording: 1,200 MW Bought Annual/medium-term requirement Through bilateral contract; mandatory provision Pricing design Ancillary-service contract/regulated provision
Full record for Emergency Reserve — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Provide additional response for severe contingencies and emergency operating states.

What the source says about timing

Full response within 10 minutes

Who can provide it

Qualified generation and demand-side resources.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 10 min

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement and a procurement volume. It does not state how long delivery has to be sustained.

Sources
Ten-Minute Reserve up operational Response type post-fault; manual Trigger System-operator dispatch following contingency or reserve depletion. Full activation 10 min System requirement 520–720 MW (2026/27) Source wording: 720 MW peak; 520 MW off-peak Bought Annual/medium-term requirement Through bilateral contract; mandatory provision Pricing design Ancillary-service contract/regulated provision
Full record for Ten-Minute Reserve — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Restore instantaneous and regulating reserves following a contingency.

What the source says about timing

Full response within 10 minutes

Who can provide it

Qualified synchronized and non-synchronized resources.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 10 min

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement and a procurement volume. It does not state how long delivery has to be sustained.

Sources
Replacement reserve
Supplemental Reserve up operational Response type manual Trigger System-operator instruction. Full activation 6 h As the source describes it at least 2 h; Available for at least 2 hours System requirement 400 MW (2026/27) Source wording: 400 MW Bought Annual/medium-term requirement Through bilateral contract; mandatory provision Pricing design Ancillary-service contract/regulated provision
Full record for Supplemental Reserve — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Replace depleted reserves and support longer-duration shortages.

What the source says about timing

Available within 6 hours

Who can provide it

Qualified generation and demand-side resources.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 6 h · Minimum sustained 2 h

Sources
Reactive power & voltage
Reactive Power / Voltage Control non-directional operational Response type continuous; automatic local; manual Trigger Voltage-control setpoints and system-operator instruction. Stated response Equipment- and instruction-specific As the source describes it Continuous/as required As stated Network-study-specific Bought Continuous and location-specific Through mandatory provision; bilateral contract Pricing design Regulated/contractual
Full record for Reactive Power / Voltage Control — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Maintain voltages and reactive-power margins across the transmission system.

Who can provide it

Qualified generators and reactive compensation resources.

Sources
Black start & restoration
Black Start / Self Start / Unit Islanding operational Response type post-fault; manual; event-triggered Trigger Restoration plan. Stated response Facility- and restoration-plan-specific As the source describes it Restoration-plan-specific As stated Restoration-plan-specific Bought Contracted by location/restoration need Through bilateral contract; administrative assignment Pricing design Ancillary-service contract
Full record for Black Start / Self Start / Unit Islanding — document bound, page for these figures not recorded
What it is for

Restore the power system after a blackout through self-starting and islanding-capable resources.

Who can provide it

Certified self-start and islanding-capable units.

Sources
Getting paid to exist

Does South African electricity supply industry / future SAWEM have a capacity mechanism?

No. South African electricity supply industry / future SAWEM's capacity/adequacy arrangement: No operational market-wide capacity mechanism. Responsibility sits with Department of Electricity and Energy / NTCSA / NERSA.

No operational market-wide capacity mechanism

not operational

Adequacy is currently addressed through central planning, regulated procurement and bilateral/IPP programmes. The future SAWEM design is not an already-operational capacity market.

other

Responsibility
Department of Electricity and Energy / NTCSA / NERSA
Auction held in 2025
No — No capacity auction for this market was found to have been held during 2025 in the sources reviewed.
Where this comes from

Official sources

Rules

Current as of · from the Global Electricity Market Catalogue v1.2.0 (compiled to , CC BY 4.0, rendered here with wording edited for readability). Facts belong to the linked official authorities; verify the current rules before design or bidding decisions.

Questions

Common questions about South African electricity supply industry / future SAWEM

Who operates South African electricity supply industry / future SAWEM?
National Transmission Company South Africa (NTCSA) operates South African electricity supply industry / future SAWEM, covering South Africa.
Was a qualifying capacity event held in South African electricity supply industry / future SAWEM in 2025?
No. No operational market-wide capacity mechanism: no qualifying 2025 event is recorded. No capacity auction for this market was found to have been held during 2025 in the sources reviewed.
How is energy traded, priced and settled in South African electricity supply industry / future SAWEM?
South African electricity supply industry / future SAWEM: The current system remains dominated by regulated dispatch, single-buyer procurement and bilateral wheeling. The South African Wholesale Electricity Market code and roadmap are under implementation; this record does not treat SAWEM as an already-operational spot market.
Keep exploring

Every market, one map.

The markets index holds the full set. For what the grid demands of a battery here, see the grid-code ride-through atlas.

All electricity markets