Spain electricity market

Spain. Status: operational; joined PICASSO in June 2025.

Wholesale design: MIBEL/EU-coupled zonal market; primary control is mandatory, while secondary and tertiary balancing and SRAD are separately arranged.

Market type
Jurisdictional market
Operators
Red Eléctrica · OMIE
Dispatch model
self-scheduling energy market with TSO balancing activations and technical constraints process
Where energy trades

Where does energy trade in Spain electricity market?

Energy in Spain electricity market trades in 4 layers: day-ahead, intraday, balancing and active demand response.

What a battery can sell

What ancillary services can a battery sell in Spain electricity market?

Spain electricity market has 5 ancillary-service products, across 5 families — frequency containment, automatic frequency restoration, manual frequency restoration, replacement reserve and demand response: Active Demand Response Service, automatic Frequency Restoration Reserve, Frequency Containment Reserve, manual Frequency Restoration Reserve, Replacement Reserve. Response timing, direction and eligibility for each are in the table below; a product's full record lists the official sources behind it.

Every value below comes from the official sources listed in that product's full record. Most products cite more than one, and the published sources do not say which of them states each individual value, so the binding is to the product's record rather than to a single document. A missing line means the source does not state that value — never that the value is zero.

Scroll the table sideways for the rest of the columns →

5 ancillary-service products in Spain electricity market, grouped into 5 families. Each row runs left to right through one product's life: how it activates, how quickly it has to respond, how long it has to keep delivering, and how it is bought.
Service How it activates Response Sustained delivery Procurement
Frequency containment
Frequency Containment Reserve FCRprimary frequency controlprimary reserve symmetric or separate upward/downward according to synchronous area and national procurement operational Response type automatic, local-frequency-proportional, pre-fault and post-fault containment Trigger continuous response to local frequency deviation; exact deadband and droop are national/synchronous-area technical parameters Full activation 30 s Bought national or regional capacity procurement, commonly day-ahead How it settles capacity remuneration or mandatory provision depending on national implementation; energy/imbalance treatment is national Pricing design national/regional rules Counted as a mandatory service, so no volume is bought
Full record for Frequency Containment Reserve — page or table locator recorded
What it is for

Contain frequency deviations before frequency-restoration processes take over.

Where it sits

mandatory national primary control

Where it applies

Bidding zone: ES

Published checkpoints

Full activation requirement: 30 s · Response checkpoint: 15 s (50% of response) · Response checkpoint: 30 s (100% of response)

How this market implements it

Primary control was mandatory rather than a competitive capacity market in 2025.

Who can provide it

prequalified generation, storage or demand resources meeting synchronous-area and national TSO requirements

Notes from the source

Thirty seconds is the Continental Europe full-activation time, not a universal Europe-wide value.

Continental Europe requirement for a frequency deviation of at least 200 mHz; do not apply to Nordic FCR products

Status of this product

Operational in 2025, but not competitively procured

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 30 s

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement. It does not state how long delivery has to be sustained, and the volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources
Automatic frequency restoration
automatic Frequency Restoration Reserve aFRRsecondary controlsecondary reserve separate upward and downward operational in participating markets; rollout continued Response type automatic central activation, normally via AGC/set-point signal; continuously activatable standard product Trigger activated from TSO control-area needs rather than a single public frequency threshold Full activation 5 min Bought balancing capacity remains nationally procured; balancing energy is activated through national systems and PICASSO where connected How it settles separate capacity and activated-energy settlement where capacity is procured; imbalance effects remain under national terms Smallest bid 1 MW Pricing design capacity pricing is national; common merit-order activation and marginal pricing apply through PICASSO subject to implementation rules Counted as national capacity procurement
Full record for automatic Frequency Restoration Reserve — page or table locator recorded
What it is for

Restore frequency and area-control error and release FCR after an imbalance.

Where it sits

national aFRR plus PICASSO balancing energy

Where it applies

Bidding zone: ES

Bought in blocks of

15 min

Published checkpoints

Standard product, full activation: 5 min

How this market implements it

Spain connected to PICASSO in June 2025; national secondary regulation had a 20-second to 15-minute operating range.

Who can provide it

prequalified balancing service providers; aggregation rules are national

Notes from the source

A common balancing-energy product does not imply common national capacity procurement, qualification or settlement.

EU standard-product full activation time; before 18 December 2025 national products and transition rules still apply and have to be checked market by market

Status of this product

Operational in 2025

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 5 min

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement. It does not state how long delivery has to be sustained, and the volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources
Manual frequency restoration
manual Frequency Restoration Reserve mFRRtertiary reservemanual restoration reserve separate upward and downward operational in national markets; MARI integration continued Response type scheduled or direct manual/automated-dispatch activation of a balancing-energy bid Trigger TSO activation based on imbalance, reserve need and common merit order; not a single frequency threshold Full activation 750 s maximum full activation time for the EU standard product; legacy national products may differ Minimum obligation at least 5 min Bought national balancing-capacity procurement; balancing-energy activation through national arrangements and MARI where connected How it settles capacity plus activated energy where capacity is procured; energy-only bids may also participate under national terms Smallest bid 1 MW Pricing design national capacity rules and common-platform energy pricing under the implementation framework Counted as national capacity procurement
Full record for manual Frequency Restoration Reserve — page or table locator recorded
What it is for

Restore system balance manually or by automated dispatch after faster reserves and release aFRR/FCR.

Where it sits

national mFRR standard product

Where it applies

Bidding zone: ES

Bought in blocks of

15 min

Published checkpoints

Standard product, maximum full activation: 750 s

How this market implements it

The Spanish standard mFRR product required delivery within 12.5 minutes.

Who can provide it

prequalified balancing service providers; aggregation and telemetry requirements are national

Notes from the source

The 12.5-minute value is a standard-product maximum full-activation time; legacy national tertiary products may use different labels or timings.

Status of this product

Operational in 2025

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 750 s · Minimum sustained 5 min

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement and a minimum delivery period. It does not state a maximum duration, and the volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources
Replacement reserve
Replacement Reserve RR separate upward and downward operational in participating national implementations; TERRE operations ended 30 December 2025 ahead of decommissioning Response type manual scheduled block activation Trigger TSO activation from replacement-reserve need through national arrangements or TERRE Full activation 30 min maximum full activation time for the European RR standard product Minimum obligation at least 15 min Bought mostly balancing energy; national capacity arrangements may differ How it settles activated energy and national imbalance settlement Pricing design common merit-order activation through TERRE where connected Counted as national energy bids, which the operator does not publish as a figure
Full record for Replacement Reserve — page or table locator recorded
What it is for

Replace restoration reserves and cover longer-lasting imbalances with slower resources.

Where it sits

national/European RR implementation

Where it applies

Bidding zone: ES

Published checkpoints

Standard product, maximum full activation: 30 min

Who can provide it

prequalified balancing service providers capable of the scheduled block product

Notes from the source

TERRE platform status changed at year-end 2025; the product should not be presented as a still-growing platform after that date.

Status of this product

Operational during 2025

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 30 min · Minimum sustained 15 min

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement and a minimum delivery period. It does not state a maximum duration, and the volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources
Demand response
Active Demand Response Service SRAD upward system response through load reduction auctioned 28 November 2025 for January-June 2026 delivery Response type manual demand-response activation Trigger Red Eléctrica activation instruction Full activation 750 s Maximum stated up to 2 h System requirement 1725 MW Bought competitive auction for a defined availability period How it settles availability in EUR/MW-hour plus activation treatment under service rules Pricing design marginal availability price
Full record for Active Demand Response Service — a topic in the document is named, but not a page or table
What it is for

Provide dispatchable demand reduction during periods of system need.

Published checkpoints

Full delivery requirement: 750 s

Who can provide it

qualified demand-response providers/aggregations

Notes from the source

SRAD is a specific demand-response service, not Spain's general adequacy Capacity Market.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 750 s · Maximum sustained 2 h

Sources
Getting paid to exist

Does Spain electricity market have a capacity mechanism?

No. Spain electricity market's capacity/adequacy arrangement: No operational Spanish auction-based adequacy Capacity Market.

No operational Spanish auction-based adequacy Capacity Market

no operational market-wide capacity auction identified for 2025

Auction held in 2025
No — No capacity auction for this market was found to have been held during 2025 in the sources reviewed.

SRAD is a short-duration active-demand-response service and legacy capacity payments are not a 2025 centralized capacity auction.

Revenue routes

Merchant revenue routes

  • energy
  • aFRR
  • mFRR
  • replacement reserves where available
  • SRAD demand-response availability
Where this comes from

Official sources

Capacity-mechanism explainer

Current as of · from the Global Electricity Market Catalogue v1.2.0 (compiled to , CC BY 4.0, rendered here with wording edited for readability). Facts belong to the linked official authorities; verify the current rules before design or bidding decisions.

Questions

Common questions about Spain electricity market

Who operates Spain electricity market?
Spain electricity market covers Spain and is operated by Red Eléctrica and OMIE.
Was a qualifying capacity event held in Spain electricity market in 2025?
No. No operational Spanish auction-based adequacy Capacity Market: no qualifying 2025 event is recorded. No capacity auction for this market was found to have been held during 2025 in the sources reviewed.
How is energy traded, priced and settled in Spain electricity market?
Spain electricity market: MIBEL/EU-coupled zonal market; primary control is mandatory, while secondary and tertiary balancing and SRAD are separately arranged. Dispatch — self-scheduling energy market with TSO balancing activations and technical constraints process.
Keep exploring

Every market, one map.

The markets index holds the full set. For what the grid demands of a battery here, see the grid-code ride-through atlas.

All electricity markets