Great Britain electricity market

England; Scotland; Wales. Status: operational; reserve-product transition underway.

Wholesale design: Single-zone bilateral/exchange market with pay-as-bid Balancing Mechanism actions and cash-out settlement.

Market type
Jurisdictional market
Operators
NESO · Elexon · EPEX SPOT · Nord Pool
Dispatch model
self-dispatch with a real-time Balancing Mechanism
Where energy trades

Where does energy trade in Great Britain electricity market?

Energy in Great Britain electricity market trades in 5 layers: bilateral and exchange day-ahead/intraday energy, Balancing Mechanism, ancillary services, imbalance settlement and Capacity Market.

What a battery can sell

What ancillary services can a battery sell in Great Britain electricity market?

Great Britain electricity market has 10 ancillary-service products, across 3 families — fast frequency response, operating reserve and other services: Balancing Reserve, Dynamic Containment, Dynamic Moderation, Dynamic Regulation, Fast Reserve, Mandatory Frequency Response, Quick Reserve, Slow Reserve, and 2 more. Response timing, direction and eligibility for each are in the table below; a product's full record lists the official sources behind it. Fast Reserve and Short Term Operating Reserve have ended; the table below gives each status in full.

Every value below comes from the official sources listed in that product's full record. Most products cite more than one, and the published sources do not say which of them states each individual value, so the binding is to the product's record rather than to a single document. A missing line means the source does not state that value — never that the value is zero.

Scroll the table sideways for the rest of the columns →

10 ancillary-service products in Great Britain electricity market, grouped into 3 families. Each row runs left to right through one product's life: how it activates, how quickly it has to respond, how long it has to keep delivering, and how it is bought.
Service How it activates Response Sustained delivery Procurement
Fast frequency response
Dynamic Containment DCDC HighDC Low high-frequency and low-frequency services procured separately operational Response type automatic dynamic post-fault frequency response Trigger dynamic response curve around 50 Hz; service-specific technical envelope Full activation 1 s Maximum stated up to 15 min Bought day-ahead auction How it settles availability payment with performance adjustment; energy effects through metering/imbalance rules Pricing design pay-as-clear availability
Full record for Dynamic Containment — page or table locator recorded
What it is for

Rapidly contain frequency after a fault at the edge of the operational range.

Published checkpoints

Full activation requirement: 1 s

Who can provide it

NESO prequalification and performance monitoring

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 1 s · Maximum sustained 15 min

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement and a maximum delivery duration. The volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources
Dynamic Moderation DMDM HighDM Low high-frequency and low-frequency services procured separately operational Response type automatic dynamic pre-fault frequency response Trigger dynamic response curve inside the operational range Full activation 1 s Maximum stated up to 30 min Bought day-ahead auction How it settles availability payment with performance adjustment Pricing design pay-as-clear availability
Full record for Dynamic Moderation — page or table locator recorded
What it is for

Rapidly correct sudden frequency deviations before they become large containment events.

Published checkpoints

Full activation requirement: 1 s

Who can provide it

NESO prequalification and performance monitoring

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 1 s · Maximum sustained 30 min

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement and a maximum delivery duration. The volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources
Dynamic Regulation DRDR HighDR Low high-frequency and low-frequency services procured separately operational Response type automatic dynamic pre-fault frequency response Trigger continuous response around nominal frequency Full activation 10 s Maximum stated up to 1 h Bought day-ahead auction How it settles availability payment with performance adjustment Pricing design pay-as-clear availability
Full record for Dynamic Regulation — page or table locator recorded
What it is for

Continuously regulate small frequency deviations around 50 Hz.

Published checkpoints

Full activation requirement: 10 s

Who can provide it

NESO prequalification and performance monitoring

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 10 s · Maximum sustained 1 h

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement and a maximum delivery duration. The volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources
Operating reserve
Balancing Reserve BRBalancing Reserve PositiveBalancing Reserve Negative positive and negative procured separately operational Response type manual Balancing Mechanism dispatch, pre-fault reserve Trigger NESO Balancing Mechanism instruction Full activation 10 min Minimum obligation at least 60 s Bought day-ahead auction How it settles availability payment plus Balancing Mechanism utilization Pricing design pay-as-clear availability
Full record for Balancing Reserve — a topic in the document is named, but not a page or table
What it is for

Hold additional headroom/footroom to manage forecast uncertainty close to real time.

Published checkpoints

Full delivery requirement: 10 min · Notice: 2 min

Who can provide it

prequalified Balancing Mechanism units meeting ramping and availability requirements

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 10 min · Minimum sustained 60 s

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement and a minimum delivery period. It does not state a maximum duration, and the volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources
Fast Reserve legacy Fast Reserve positive and negative operational legacy service in 2025; ceased 17 April 2026 and was replaced by Quick Reserve Response type manual/automatic dispatch under legacy contracts Trigger NESO instruction Full activation 2 min Minimum obligation at least 15 min Bought legacy contracted procurement How it settles contract availability/utilization terms Pricing design contracted
Full record for Fast Reserve — a topic in the document is named, but not a page or table
What it is for

Rapidly increase or decrease active power to control frequency changes and balance the system.

Published checkpoints

Full delivery requirement: 2 min

Who can provide it

prequalified providers meeting ramp and delivery requirements

Notes from the source

Legacy contract variants can differ; verify any asset-specific obligation against its contract.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 2 min · Minimum sustained 15 min

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement and a minimum delivery period. It does not state a maximum duration, and the volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources

The official evidence behind this row is real but incomplete, contextual or reference-only — not specific enough to state these values more firmly.

Quick Reserve QRQuick Reserve PositiveQuick Reserve Negative positive and negative procured separately operational; phase 1 began 19 November 2024 and phase 2 first non-BM auction was 2 September 2025 Response type manual/automatic dispatch instruction, pre-fault reserve Trigger NESO dispatch instruction Full activation 60 s Bought day-ahead auction How it settles availability plus utilization/energy settlement Pricing design pay-as-clear availability; utilization through applicable dispatch/settlement route
Full record for Quick Reserve — a topic in the document is named, but not a page or table
What it is for

Restore energy balance rapidly after a deviation and reduce reliance on slower reserve.

Published checkpoints

Full delivery requirement: 60 s · Maximum recovery: 3 min

Who can provide it

prequalified Balancing Mechanism units and, from phase 2, eligible non-BM units

Notes from the source

The five-minute figure constrains the provider's minimum activation period; it is not a maximum delivery duration.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 60 s

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement. It does not state how long delivery has to be sustained, and the volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources
Slow Reserve Slow Reserve PositiveSlow Reserve Negative positive and negative procured separately approved/developed but not operational during 2025; launched 1 April 2026 Response type manual post-fault reserve Trigger NESO instruction Full activation 15 min Bought day-ahead auction after launch How it settles availability plus utilization under service terms Pricing design service-specific auction
Full record for Slow Reserve — a topic in the document is named, but not a page or table
What it is for

Recover the system after a large event using slower reserve and replace legacy STOR arrangements.

Published checkpoints

Full delivery requirement: 15 min

Who can provide it

minimum 1 MW and service prequalification

Notes from the source

This product was not operational in 2025; it is shown here because it explains the 2025 product transition.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 15 min

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement. It does not state how long delivery has to be sustained, and the volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources
Short Term Operating Reserve STOR upward generation or demand reduction operational in 2025; service ended 1 April 2026 Response type manual reserve instruction Trigger NESO instruction Full activation 20 min Minimum obligation at least 2 h Bought contracted availability windows How it settles availability plus utilization energy Pricing design availability and utilization prices
Full record for Short Term Operating Reserve — a topic in the document is named, but not a page or table
What it is for

Provide additional active power or demand reduction when actual demand exceeds available synchronized supply.

Published checkpoints

Full delivery requirement: 20 min

Who can provide it

minimum 3 MW capability, individually or aggregated, meeting response and duration requirements

Notes from the source

This is not a current product after April 2026; it is shown for 2025 context.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 20 min · Minimum sustained 2 h

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement and a minimum delivery period. It does not state a maximum duration, and the volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources
Other services
Mandatory Frequency Response MFRprimary responsesecondary responsehigh-frequency response bundled upward and downward/high-frequency response operational Response type automatic dynamic response with bundled low- and high-frequency profiles Trigger frequency-deviation response curve set through Grid Code/service requirements Expected within 10 s Bought mandatory capability with commercial holding payments/instructions How it settles holding and response-energy treatment under NESO/Elexon rules Pricing design provider holding-price submissions and NESO dispatch
Full record for Mandatory Frequency Response — page or table locator recorded
What it is for

Grid-code frequency response from obligated large generators and other contracted providers.

Published checkpoints

Multiple response profiles: 10 s

Who can provide it

Grid Code obligated units and accepted providers

Notes from the source

MFR contains multiple response profiles, so one duration would be misleading.

Checkpoint recap

Expected within 10 s

What the source does not state

The source states the response deadline. It does not state how long delivery has to be sustained, and the volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources

The official evidence behind this row is real but incomplete, contextual or reference-only — not specific enough to state these values more firmly.

Static Firm Frequency Response Static FFR low-frequency/upward response operational legacy product Response type automatic static post-fault relay response Trigger contracted low-frequency trigger Full activation 30 s Maximum stated up to 30 min Bought monthly tender/legacy procurement under NESO arrangements How it settles availability and performance under service terms Pricing design contracted availability
Full record for Static Firm Frequency Response — page or table locator recorded
What it is for

Deliver low-frequency response after a defined frequency event.

Published checkpoints

Full activation requirement: 30 s

Who can provide it

prequalified service providers

Notes from the source

Procurement arrangements can change as dynamic services replace legacy products.

Checkpoint recap

Full activation 30 s · Maximum sustained 30 min

What the source does not state

The source states the full-activation requirement and a maximum delivery duration. The volume is either set per auction or not published as a standing figure — the source does not say which.

Sources
Getting paid to exist

Does Great Britain electricity market have a capacity mechanism?

Great Britain electricity market has 1 capacity/adequacy arrangement: Great Britain Capacity Market. The official sources do not say whether it is a central capacity market.

Great Britain Capacity Market

operational

Forward T-4 and top-up T-1 descending-clock auctions award capacity agreements for delivery-year obligations, with technology-specific derating and agreement lengths.

NESO auction under parameters set by the UK government; uniform clearing price within an auction subject to rules.

Unit of obligation
deliver de-rated capacity during system stress events or face penalties, subject to the rules
Auction held in 2025
Yes () — Dated from the day the auction ran.

Balancing Mechanism and reserve services procure operational flexibility, not long-term adequacy.

GBP/kW-year capacity payment indexed/settled under agreement terms

Revenue routes

Merchant revenue routes

  • wholesale spreads
  • Balancing Mechanism bids and offers
  • frequency-response availability and utilization
  • reserve availability and utilization
  • Capacity Market agreements
Where this comes from

Official sources

Service specification

Market explainer

Capacity-mechanism explainer

Methodology

Current as of · from the Global Electricity Market Catalogue v1.2.0 (compiled to , CC BY 4.0, rendered here with wording edited for readability). Facts belong to the linked official authorities; verify the current rules before design or bidding decisions.

Questions

Common questions about Great Britain electricity market

Who operates Great Britain electricity market?
Great Britain electricity market covers England, Scotland and Wales and is operated by NESO, Elexon, EPEX SPOT and Nord Pool.
Was a qualifying capacity event held in Great Britain electricity market in 2025?
Yes. Great Britain Capacity Market: a qualifying 2025 event is recorded (2025-03-05). Dated from the day the auction ran.
How is energy traded, priced and settled in Great Britain electricity market?
Great Britain electricity market: Single-zone bilateral/exchange market with pay-as-bid Balancing Mechanism actions and cash-out settlement. Dispatch — self-dispatch with a real-time Balancing Mechanism.
Keep exploring

Every market, one map.

The markets index holds the full set. For what the grid demands of a battery here, see the grid-code ride-through atlas.

All electricity markets